NEXT : The list of pre-selected candidates will be announced on October 31st

Ben van Berkel

Founder and principal architect of the architectural firm UNStudio

Founder and principal architect of the architectural firm UNStudio , he designed the Erasmus Bridge in Rotterdam, the Moebius House in the Netherlands, the Mercedes-Benz Museum in Stuttgart, Arnhem Central Station, the University of Singapore, among the best known of Architecture and Design and Raffles City in Hangzhou.

Ben van Berkel has lectured and taught at many architecture schools around the world. He directed Graduation Units at the Berlage Institute in Rotterdam (1992-1993) and the Architectural Association in London (1999). Prior to his role as Professor Conceptual Design at the Städelschule Frankfurt (2001-2016), he was Visiting Professor at Columbia University, Princeton University and Harvard University. In 2011 Ben van Berkel was appointed Kenzo Tange Chair at the Harvard Graduate School of Design. The central point of his teaching is the inclusive approach of architectural works that integrate the virtual and material organization and engineering constructions.

Ben van Berkel has received many awards and personal affiliations, such as the Eileen Gray Award (1983); the British Council Fellowship (1986); the Charlotte Köhler Prize (1991); Honorary member of the Bund Deutscher Architekten (1997); the 1822-Kunstpreis 2003 (for the Mercedes-Benz Museum); the Charles Jencks Award (2007); the AIA Honorary Fellowship (2013) and the Kubus Award (2016).

Cookie Consent

This website uses cookies or similar technologies, to enhance your browsing experience and provide personalized recommendations. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our Privacy Policy